Skip to main content

Policy Advisory Committee

During the 2003 session, the Legislature passed HB 861, which created the Mississippi Coordinating Council for Remote Sensing and Geographic Information Systems. As part of this legislation, a Policy Advisory Committee was also created. The members of the advisory committee are made up of policy level officials from major state, local, regional and federal agencies, including, but not limited to, the National Association of Space Administration, the Mississippi Institute for Forestry Inventory, the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks, the Mississippi Public Utilities Staff, the Department of Marine Resources, the county E911 coordinator, the State Health Officer, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce, the State Tax Commission, the Council of Consulting Engineers and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, as well as members of the private sector.